10 May WHAT ARE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS FOR PERSONAL INJURY CASES IN GEORGIA?
The statute of limitations basically refers to your deadline to file a claim, and in personal injury cases that deadline depends upon the type of injury you suffered. In order to be awarded any damages for your injury, your claim must be filed prior to the expiration of the statute of limitations.
Statutes of limitations vary by type of injury :
- Injury to a person: an act to deliberately injure another person, like assault and battery. Georgia law allows up to 2 years from the date of the incident.
- Negligence: an injury that could have been prevented, like car accident accidents, slip and fall cases, or domesticated animal attacks. Georgia law also allows 2 years from the date of the accident.
- Defamation: an injury that occurs when someone harms another’s character or reputation by making false statements, referred to as slander and libel. Defamation cases have a shorter requirement so Georgia law requires you to file within 1 year of the written or spoken act.
- Medical malpractice: an injury that occurs to do the negligence of a health professional. Georgia law allows 2 years to file medical malpractice claims from the date of the injury.
Sometime it may be hard to determine the appropriate date. For assistance in filing your claims in a timely manner, please contact AJ Law Practice.